National Women's Bonspiel 2017

"Bikes and Brew - Thunder on the Ice"

USWCA 69th National Bonspiel

- Host: Milwaukee Curling Club, Cedarburg, WI
- When: February 15 19, 2017
- Hotel: Four Points by Sheraton Milwaukee North Shore in Brown Deer, WI
- Kit Party: Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at the Milwaukee Curling Club
- Bonspiel Schedule



Lonely Planet rated Milwaukee as one of the best U.S. cities to visit in 2016.

The Milwaukee Curling Club membership welcomed USWCA National Bonspiel participants to our state-of-the-sport curling facility built in 2012. The Milwaukee Curling Club is the oldest curling club in continual existence in the United States. Scottish settlers began curling on the Milwaukee River in 1843. Our rich history includes hosting the first mixed bonspiel in the U.S. in 1951 and being a home club to one of the founding members of the USWCA, Bernie Roth.

Local attractions include a wonderful Art Museum, micro and national brand brewery tours, the Harley Davidson Museum, and much more. Learn more by going to Visit Milwaukee (brought to you by the Milwaukee Convention and Visitors Bureau).

Our club is located north of Milwaukee in Cedarburg, WI. *Midwest Living Magazine* says Cedarburg, WI is *"Pretty as a postcard and filled with specialty shops."* The weekend of the USWCA Bonspiel will also be Cedarburg's Winter Festival featuring ice sculptures, a parade, frozen river bed races and many other festivities. To find out more, go to Cedarburg Chamber of Commerce and Visitors Center online.



Welcome to MKE

Bonspiel Information

For more information about the event, please read the invitation. Note that this letter is addressed to your USWCA Representative.

Participant Information

To be considered to participate, a completed application along with the entry fee must be received by your club's USWCA Representative before the entry deadline to give her time to send it to her Area Coordinator. For the 2017 Bonspiel, the deadline was December 15, 2016. At the end of the invitation, you will find the application form.

After your acceptance into the bonspiel, an Athletic Agreement and a Waiver form must be completed. Please return those forms to Mary Beth Goelzer by January 27, 2017. Also, those curling, who are not attending the Winter Meetings (Feb. 13 - 15), please make your meal choice for the Annual Banquet using the Meal Choice form. That must also be returned by January 27, 2017.

Follow Us on Facebook

Use #uswcanb2017 to see pictures from the National Bonspiel on Facebook.

Let the Bonspiel Begin



The USWCA President, Carol Stevenson (in blue) gets ready to deliver the First Rock during the Opening Ceremonies of the 69th Annual National Bonspiel. She was piped onto the ice and accompanied by several USWCA Past Presidents.



Past Presidents in red, from left to right, Judy Maier, Margie Knitter, Star Pfiffner, Shelley Dropkin, Bridget Matzke, and Peggy Jacobs join President Carol Stevenson, in blue, after the first rock was thrown right to the button!

(Pictures with the Past Presidents are property of Charli and reproduced here with her permission.)

Congratulations to the Bonspiel Champions



Congratulations to the first event winners, the Roessler rink from the Centerville Curling Club located in Galesville, WI. This is the second consecutive win for 3 of the 4 teammates. They were joined by a new lead this year. They were presented with a lovely trophy, cups, and pins. The team members, pictured left to right are skip Laura Roessler, vice Sara Hein, second Elyse Sorenson, and lead Toni Paisley.



The first event runners up were the Ronk rink from the Green Bay Curling Club. The team, pictured left to right, are skip Karen Ronk, Ashley Lymann, Michelle Krupp, and Amy Moore and are seen here with the runner up trophy and pins.

Draw Sheets

Links to the draw sheets are listed below and were updated during the bonspiel.

- First Event
- Second Event
- Third Event
- Fourth Event

Second Event Winners - Kettle Moraine Curling Club, Hartland, WI (Teams in photos below are listed left to right, skip to lead, unless otherwise specified.)



Skip Michele Heinze, Vice Carey Nelson, Second Erin Gunderson, Lead Megan Passo

Second Event Runners Up - Detroit Curling Club, Ferndale, MI



Skip Dawn Brauninger, Vice Laura Call, Second Diana Jankowski, Lead Deb Freelander

Third Event Winner - Mayfield Curling Club, South Euclid, OH



Skip Dee Montgomery Vice Tracy Moore, Second Dianne Coolidge, Lead Liz Novak

Third Event Runners Up - Chicago Curling Club, Northbrook, IL



Lead Julie Denten, Vice Leslie Armstrong, Skip Michelle Rittgers, and Second Kelly Zahn

Fourth Event Winner - Belfast Curling Club, Belfast, ME



Skip Karen MacDonald, Vice Abbie Read, Second Ann Kirkpatrick, Lead Jaye Martin

Fourth Event Runners Up - Fairbanks Curling Club, Fairbanks, AK



Skip Karen Spaleta, Vice Martha Hanlon, Second Jeannette Smith, Lead Cathy Shuttleworth

(Pictures of event winners and runners-up are property of Charli and reproduced here with her permission.)

Teams

The clubs and team members are listed below. Team members are listed left to right, skip to lead.

EAST

Albany - Wendy Berger, Nancy Drischler, Winn Schwartz, Marilyn Mathany Ardsley - Leeza Furman, Christi F. Kirchner, Alice Yeh, Lynn Salmon Belfast - Karen MacDonald, Abbie Read, Ann Kirkpatrick, Jaye Martin Broomstones Ladies - Dawn Gutro, Carolyn MacLeod, Elaine Ritchie, Nancy Jennett

Cape Cod 1 - Jamie Hutchinson, Diane DiMassa, Carolyn Ryczek, Martha Kenney

Cape Cod 2 - Mary Colacchio, Cathy Offinger, Linda Pistilli, Carol Arakelian Charlotte - Stacie Pinnavaia, Stacey MacNeil, Jen Mogavero, Ronda Harlow

Potomac - Stephanie Erstad, Catherine Coslick, Elizabeth Demers, Kaitie Kovach

Rochester - Carol Wood, Rebecca Hahn, Andrea Greisberger, Carol Dellavilla

Schenectady - Christina Hall, Lisa Miller, Laura Dolins, Yuko Kashiwado Triangle - Lea Franklin, Sandra Takata, P.J. Feinson, Pam Wagg

CENTRAL

Bowling Green - Mary Glowacki, Martha Mozzarella, Ruth Brown, Alana Malik

Chicago - Michele Rittgers, Leslie Armstrong, Kelly Zahn, Julie Denten Circle City - Tammy Hoffman, Lauren Werckenthien, Susan Fleck, Caryn Thompson

Detroit - Dawn Brauninger, Laura Call, Diana Jankowski, Deb Freelander Exmoor - Marcy Calaway, Tracy Lawless, Kendall Behm, Melissa Kamin Mayfield - Dee Montgomery, Tracie Moore, Dianne Coolidge, Liz Novak

WISCONSIN

Blackhawk - Kim Ruduin, Deb Richards, Jodeen Exner, Megan Veldkamp Centerville - Laura Roessler, Sara Hein, Elyse Sorenson, Toni Paisley Green Bay - Karen Ronk, Ashley Lymann, Michelle Krupp, Amy Moore Madison 1 - Star Pfiffner, Clarion Gilbertson, Judi Page, Anne Pryor Madison 2 - Cindy Godar, Kathy Pielage, Beth Lepping, Susan Dukes Milwaukee 1 - Kelly Conrardy, Joanne Moll, Deirdre Snyder, Sarah Freier Milwaukee 2 - Kristin Smith, Diane Rosenberg, Karly Kropidlowski, Stephanie Strand

Kettle Moraine - Michele Heinze, Carey Nelson, Erin Gunderson, Megan Passo

Racine - Lisa Johnson, Barb Vanderleest, Lora Christensen, Paula Kalke

WEST I

Arden Hills Cairn Lassies - Nancy Nelson, Molly Jensen, Linda Turner, Marcia Vandesteeg

St. Paul Bonnie Spielers - Sally Augustin, Amy Anderson, Gail Anderson, Nancee Melby

WEST II

Denver - Pat Davis, Carol Dickin, Nancy Mutz, Karen Bronson Coyotes - Kelly Stephens, Betsy Fredricksen, Kimberly Gaddie, Amy Thompson

Fairbanks - Karen Spaleta, Martha Hanlon, Jeannette Smith, Cathy Shuttleworth

Seattle Granite - Nadyne Krienke, Karen Brattesani, Emily Bissonnette, Dani Thibodeaux